Triple Coupons! What a way to ring in the New Year

1 01 2009

Triples purchaseFor frugalistas such as myself, there’s no better way to ring in a new year than with a grocery store register ringing up triple coupons. Rising while it was still dark, I was trolling the aisles of Harris Teeter with my handy dandy coupon binder while, I suspect, most folks were still snoozing.

On my first order, I purchased: 2 Starkist Creations, 1 Pepto Bismal, 1 Reynolds baking cups, 3 Betty Crocker mashed potato packets, 2 loaves of Arnold bread, 1 package of Nature’s Own WhiteWheat buns, 3 packages of John Morrell lunch meat, 3 packages of Pringles Minis, 1 Dunkin Donuts coffee and 1 French’s mustard. Using a combination of coupons from newspaper inserts, internet print coupons, blinkie coupons and register rewards coupons, I paid $1.65 (OOP) out of pocket. The total before coupons was $43 and change.

On a quickie second trip, I purchased 3 packages of Texas Toast croutons, 3 packets of Betty Crocker potatoes and a bag of Wacky Mac. I paid $1.07 OOP.

While this obviously isn’t enough to feed my family for the week, it builds up my stockpile in some areas where I had run low. The potatoes are a good sidedish to add to the abundance of frozen veggies I already have on hand. The croutons enhance our salads and the mustard was a must-have since we opened our last container during the holidays. The bread will be frozen for later; the tuna is a great lunch item for my husband, the coffee is the first I have purchased in almost a year after using up a huge stash. My stockpile is so substantial right now that all I need to complete my shopping for the week are some fruits, salad greens and milk.

What I don’t do during triple couponing is go in and buy a bunch of items just because I have coupons. For instance, I had a 75-cent coupon on Cottonelle toilet paper and a 25-cent coupon on Charmin. But the sales on those items weren’t that great. Even with the $2.25-cent savings on Cottonelle, I would have still paid nearly $6 for 12 double rolls. Since I have a mountain-sized stockpile of TP, it didn’t make sense to buy it. I’ll bide my time and wait for a better deal when I’ll stock up.

Harris Teeter, my favorite grocery store by far here in North Carolina, is offering its triple coupon promotion through Sunday, Jan. 4.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

