Update: We pulled the plug on the land line

2 02 2009

It’s official. Our home phone is history. We’re unplugged. One less bill to pay and $367.44 more in our pockets every year going forward.

I just hung up with Ms. Johnson over at AT&T who very courteously helped me get rid of our land line. I expected her to give me the hard sell to keep our number, which we’ve had since moving to North Carolina in 1993. But she didn’t even try.

She told me service would be disconnected “any time between now and midnight.”  Mmmm. Glad we made it through the conversation.

AT&T will send me our final bill. That was it. No begging or pleading. No doomsday scenario. No drum roll. Maybe that’s because people are dropping their land lines in droves.

According to savings guru Clark Howard, one in five Americans has already dropped the land line. And another 13 percent of Americans say they have kept their home phones but never use them. I was shocked.

Last week, I wrote a should we/shouldn’t we post about ditching the land line admitting that I had some sort of odd attachment to the home phone. I kept thinking there must be a reason to keep it — something I was overlooking.

I remember feeling the same way when we got rid of the typewriter and our phonograph. Our attachment to the stereo was so great we kept the LPs at least a decade after we discarded the record player. (Odd we didn’t feel that way about the 8-tracks.)

In the end, I was jolted into action by my oldest son who came home to celebrate his 21st birthday this weekend. “Hey Mom. Thought you were getting rid of the land line.” Was that a trace of sarcasm I detected? To him, dropping the land line is no big deal. He has been wireless since going off to college, conducting all his personal and business calls by cell phone. Ditto for most 20- and 30-somethings.

Not sure yet what I’ll do with our antique telephones. I really don’t want to lug them around a couple decades. I can’t imagine these cordless models having the same quaintness quotient as the corded classic black rotary or the pretty princess line with the seemingly endless coils.

More likely they will be offered up for sacrifice on freecycle.

So long, home phone. I’m hanging up on you.

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 02 2009
Erin

Hi there! Coming to you from Savvydollar 🙂 I’m in Cary and trying to adopt my own frugal living… although I did totally splurge for a really good haircut the other day, lol. Hey, I haven’t had one in YEARS so I figured I was due 🙂 Anyhow, I’ll be following your “no spending in February” and look forward to reading it!

By the way – I dropped my landline about a year ago and really, I don’t even miss it! It was the best money I have ever saved in my life!

2 02 2009
freetobefrugal

Erin, Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It’s good to hear from someone who dropped their own land line and lived to tell about it. lol And thanks for coming along for the ride on my no-spend odyssey. Amy

2 02 2009
Renee C

Dropping in from Savvy as well to say, this may be what I end up doing after several months of contemplating doing it. No one ever calls ME anyway..LOL

2 02 2009
freetobefrugal

Go for it, Renee!

9 02 2009
Day 5: No-spending challenge « Free to be Frugal

[…] That was also the day I called AT&T and ditched the landline. You can read about that here. […]

Leave a Reply

