Day 9: A No-Spend Challenge update

9 02 2009

One week down, three more to go. Things are going fairly well, but I am most grateful that February is a 28-day month. 

Since I last updated you, we’ve spent $1, but it was money well spent.

On Friday afternoon, my husband paid $1 to park at  Duke Hospital to visit a coworker who was suddenly hospitalized two weeks ago and has been in intensive care ever since. When word came that his friend was finally able to have visitors, he took time off from work to show his support. As I said, money well spent.

Otherwise, we made it through the weekend without going out to eat or even setting foot in a store. 

My incredibly unobservant husband commented Saturday at the steady stream of meat, veggies, boxes and cans exiting the kitchen. I was thinking the same thing, but didn’t want to say it out loud because I know the pantry and freezer will get progressively more desperate looking as the month marches on. No need to promote panic among the troops.

While cooking Sunday, I pulled out a sliding shelf in my kitchen island to find the apple peeler. Behind it, I spotted five packages of snacks that I had tucked away months ago after a big sale. My husband’s eyes lit up.  You would have thought I found a $100 bill.

The only other economic news to report occurred Saturday afternoon after my daughter’s basketball game. A month ago, long before the no-spend challenge, we promised to take Caroline and a friend to the movies with Fandango movie codes we had received through a Home Depot promotion. When the codes failed to work, the company sent me an apology letter and a $50 American Express gift card.

Since no real money was being spent, I felt it was time to make good on my promise to take my daughter and her friend to the movies. Trying to make the outing as frugal as possible, we went to the matinee and shared popcorn and drinks. I brought in small cups and popcorn bags so everyone would have their own treats. This way, I didn’t break the theater’s rules against outside refreshments but still saved a few dollars.

I must say, however, that the prices on popcorn and drinks shocked me. Our large popcorn and medium drink totaled $12. I kept calculating in my mind how many 12-packs of soda and packages of microwave popcorn I could purchase with that money. I guess I don’t get out much.

When all was said and done, my daughter and friend had a great time and I felt good about fulfilling my commitment. Best of all, I have $18 left on the gift card — my safety net during this month of no spending.

Actions

Information

One response

23 02 2009
No-Spend Challenge: 3 weeks down, 1 to go « Free to be Frugal

[…] read previous, No-Spend Challenge posts, click here, here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

