A new life for old Christmas cards

26 02 2009

We’re closing in on the end of February and I’m wondering how many folks still have their stacks of Christmas cards. Maybe they’re on the bottom of a pile on the kitchen counter. Or in the bottom of a junk drawer. No need to confess. You know who you are!

img_1529For many Christmases past, I have had good intentions regarding the recycling of my holiday cards. Once or twice, I even gave them to charitable organizations or my kids’ schools for projects. But most years, they would sit in a neat stack in a forgotten spot in my house. Periodically, I would run across the stack, mutter to myself that I should really do something with them, then move on. By summer, I would give up and guiltily throw them out. Sound familiar?

This year, following through on a promise I’ve made to myself to reduce, reuse and recycle, I spent one evening turning last year’s Christmas greetings into this December’s Christmas gift tags.

Using a tag punch, I placed it over the coolest part of the card and pressed down firmly. I ended up punching out about 30 tags in an evening.

img_1525Some cards yielded just one tag, on other cards I was able to punch out several, depending on the size of the card and the location of the designs. If a card had handwriting on it, I simply glued another hand-punched tag to it. I handknotted leftover yarns and embroidery thread for the string.

On the crafty scale, I would rate this a 1 or 2. Even the severely craft-challenged can do this. All you need is a little hand strenth to operate the punch.

I happend to borrow my tag punch from a Creative Memories scrapbooking consultant. But you can also buy tag punches inexpensively at any craft store that sells scrapbooking supplies. Michael’s and A.C. Moore come to mind, and, of course, they both offer 40 percent off coupons on a weekly basis.

And you don’t have to be limited to Christmas cards. Recyle all your old greeting cards into gift tags for birthdays, graduations, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day or any occasion. You’ll never have to buy another gift tag again. Or feel guilty pitching your cards in the trash.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 02 2009
Andrew Dunn

These tags are really nice and a whole lot better than any tags you can buy. I highly recommend this frugal plan to anyone.

8 03 2009
Renee

I actually go online and print off a sheet of tags of whatever my kids like at the time..example, Mickey Mouse, Tinkerbell, Angels..etc…Then I hand color them and place them on gifts….it adds a bit of personalization to each child.

8 03 2009
freetobefrugal

Wow, Renee…….what a great idea. I bet your kids love opening their gifts. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

