The anatomy of a deal

24 03 2009

img_1616-1I got six bags of Doritos today at Harris Teeter, and did not pay a single penny of real money. I thought it would be interesting to blog about it to show how one deal can roll into another. And sometimes, when the coupon stars align, you get an unbelievable deal.

Today’s Doritos deal was one such deal, and on the eve of triples no less!

OK, here goes.

Doritos regularly sell for $3.99 a bag, though I couldn’t imagine paying four bucks for a bag of snacks. Total for six bags: $24.

Ending today, Harris Teeter had them BOGO. (Buy one, get one free.) That reduces my total to $12.

Next, I used a $3 coupon and a $2 coupon that I received in the mail this week as part of a Pepsi promotion I did back in January. My new total: $7.

I paid with an American Express gift card I received back in January from Home Depot as an apology for a promotion gone wrong. My out-of-pocket expense: $0.

To sweeten the deal even further: I will use the receipt from this transaction to cash in on a beer rebate offered by Budweiser for $5 back when you spend $5.01 or more on snack foods. No beer purchase is required. So ultimately, I will MAKE $5 on the deal. Don’t you just love it when a deal comes together like this.

What great deals have you run into lately? Please post below how you work your coupon magic.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 03 2009
Carolyn in NC

Did you ever see the article in 2006 where thousands of bags of Doritos washed up on the NC beach? Check it out (very funny)

http://consumerist.com/consumer/doritos/free-doritos-in-north-carolina-218482.php

And the big question is if you knew about it and were headed over there with your garbage bags to fill up, would you call your frugal friends to join you?

25 03 2009
freetobefrugal

OMG. That is funny.

Leave a Reply

