Triple coupon “hidden deals”

26 03 2009

If you’re lucky enough to live within driving distance of a Harris Teeter grocery store, you’ve probably been triple couponing at least once since the promotion began Wednesday. I was there bright and early to get my bargains before the shelves were bare.  (Just a reminder that there are no rain checks for triple coupons.)

I returned to Harris Teeter today to take a more leisurely stroll up and down the aisles looking for what I call the “hidden deals.”  The forums on SavvyDollar.org and Hot Coupon World do a great job of posting all the triples bargains, combining sales with coupons from the Sunday newspaper inserts. Those lists also include many of the deals using the so-called “peelie” coupons found on products and “blinkie” coupons from the little red machines attached to the store shelves.

But, often times, I’ll have coupons from other sources that turn out to be a great deal. I’m talking about coupons from magazines, free samples, product demonstrators, etc. See my post here about my top 15 sources for finding coupons.

A prime example of this was my purchase of  Uncrustables frozen peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Using the 55-cent coupons available from the Sunday inserts, a $2.79 box would end up costing you $1.14. Not a bad deal if your family eats these all the time but more than I would spend for an item you can make yourself in seconds for a fraction of the cost.

But, I had coupons valued at 75 cents off from a word-of-mouth marketing campaign I took part in months ago that I was saving for just such an occasion. That made each box just 54 cents. As a treat for my daughter, I stocked up.

Another example is the Spot Shot carpet cleaner I purchased yesterday. Using the newspaper insert coupon and taking advantage of the BOGO deal, these cans would be 85 cents. A great bargain considering this product normally sells for $5. But with a $2 coupon I clipped from the All You magazine, I paid just 50 cents.

So today, with my coupon binder open and my more relaxed pace, I looked to see if I could snag an extra deal or two. I recognize this sort of thing isn’t for everyone, especially if you’re holding down a job or have a toddler hanging on to your legs. But since I’m the stay-at-home parent in our household and my youngest is in school, I  try to squeeze in the time to do this sort of deal reconnaissance mission every so often.

My “hidden deal” of the day? A half-gallon of Mayfield ice cream. Since we’re chocolate fanatics, I chose Extreme Moose Tracks. It is regularly priced at $5.65 but was on a BOGO special for $2.88. Tucked into a page pocket in the freezer section of my binder was a lone coupon for 55 cents off any Mayfield ice cream. I vaguely remembered getting it from a demonstrator a few weeks ago who was handing out small dishes of ice cream.

SCORE! I brought home a half-gallon of  ice cream for just $1.23

What hidden deals have you found lately?

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 03 2009
MiserMary

I am going to try & attempt matching up my dozens of rain checks with the coupons I have and saving lots of extra money. I have loads of rain checks to use and I know many of them have matching coupons. I just need to take a few minutes to organize myself! I love that Teeters rain checks never expire!

27 03 2009
freetobefrugal

That’s another great technique to employ at triples time! Thanks for reminding me, MiserMary.

Leave a Reply

