To toss or not to toss?

1 04 2009

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve looked into my refrigerator and wondered whether I should toss that half-carton of eggs I had forgotten or the jar of Ragu with just an inch of sauce left from last week’s spaghetti supper.

Now I’ve got a place to settle the mental wrestling match between  frugality and food safety.

The website stilltasty.com  bills itself as your ultimate shelf-life guide, answering such questions as: I left pizza out overnight. Is it still safe to eat? Or, If raw beef gets dark, is it still safe to eat?

You can even type in a particular food and see if it is good beyond the date on its container. How cool is that?

This site is an unbelievable resource that will not only keep your family healthy but save you tons of money. Because, if you’re like me, when I’ve been in doubt, I’ve tossed it out.

Many thanks to Mike Fuchs, the online editor at the Greensboro (N.C.) News & Record, for turning me on to stilltasty.com. Mike writes the Bargain Blog for the newspaper’s online edition and recently posted about stilltasty.com.

I highly recommend Mike’s blog, which offers a nice mix of good deals, freebies, and down-to-earth information that will save every-day folks real money. I particularly enjoyed his recent taste-testing and price comparison of frozen pizzas. You can read about that here.

I also like his blog heading, which features his photo in the center of a fake dollar bill. It makes me laugh every time I see it. I’m adding Mike to the blog roll I recently started on the right-hand side of my blog. (These blogs are among those places I check in on daily.) While based in the Triad area of North Carolina, Mike’s blog has a lot to offer frugal-minded folks across the country.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

