Help wanted: Frugal Mother’s Day ideas

20 04 2009

I read this interesting little factoid yesterday on Taking Stock, a retail shopping blog written by Raleigh News & Observer reporter Sue Stock:

According to the National Retail Federation, Americans will spend $123.89 per person for Mother’s Day, compared to last year’s $138.63.

WHAT?????

If you are among those who spent $138 last year and are “cutting back” to $123 this year in light of hard times, I have one question for you: Does your Mother know?

Because if she did, I’m pretty certain she would not approve.

As a mother, I can’t fathom my three kids spending that much on me for Mom’s Day…….not even combined, not even with some financial aid from good ole Dad.

And as a daughter, I can’t imagine it either. If you’re reading, Mom, I love you. But $138 seems, shall we say, excessive.

It doesn’t take money to say I love you.

So, in honor of our moms, or as hints to our kids, I was hoping you could help me out here with some frugal ideas on how to celebrate Mother’s Day. Get creative and give us the nitty-gritty frugal details.

Your mom will thank you and so will your wallet.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 04 2009
Susan Goodwin

I always go the gift certificate route because my mom is so hard to shop for. The best part though is that I buy the gift certificate through Ebates so that I earn cash back AND get a discount. Works like a charm.

20 04 2009
freetobefrugal

Great idea, Susan. I love it when I get paid to shop!

21 04 2009
MaddysMommy

This Mother’s Day will be very special for my Mom and Mother in Law. Their first grandchild will be born in July, and to commemorate the special occasion, we’ve decided to make a DVD for both Moms. We’re using all the ultrasound pictures and pictures of my husband and I of when we were children and setting it to music. The DVD will be about 10 minutes or less, and the cost is minimal….

We purchased DVDs at Walgreens after transferring prescriptions. Cost – $0
We had MP3s that we had purchased years ago from iTunes that we’ll use for the montage. Cost – $0
We will have to purchase CDs, CD sleeves, and CD labels for both Moms and will likely make a CD of pictures from Madison’s arrival for our family that live in other states. Cost -$30 or less

So that’s our plan. It’s a gift that comes from the heart, it’s quite tech savvy, and is FAR less than what most will spend!

21 04 2009
freetobefrugal

Wonderful idea, MaddysMommy! And one that could be done at any time in a Mom or Grandma’s life. I might steal it myself!

Leave a Reply

